Mixing Prints; How I put it all Together

I know many people are afraid of prints and even more afraid of mixing different prints together. And yes sometimes it can come out looking like a hot mess. But if you don’t experiment you will never learn or find your new favourite outfit.

lepoard hatI started building this outfit from the hat downwards. I picked up this leopard Cloche at the One of Kind Show from Lilliput Hats last year.

The camel sweater and dark denim combo is a fairly obvious choice and I could have paired the sweater with a red tee and had a safer but still classic looking outfit.

Instead I chose a nautical blue stripe tee which works because it is almost and extension of the dark trouser denim.

lepoard hat lilliput hatsI actually threw the scarf on at the last minute and while it could be borderline too much print, I knew that it would go well with the camel sweater and denim. I do like the contrast between the floral in the scarf and the leopard hat but I am not sure I would do it all again. Still it was so warm out on Saturday (10 degrees in JANUARY!?) I didn’t want to wear a jacket.

mixing prints

Leopard Hat Lilliput Hats, Scarf Madewell, Tee Club Monaco, Sweater & Jeans Joe Fresh

This was such an easy outfit to wear. I was out checking out the consignment boutiques on Mt. Pleasant Road and thanks so much to my friend Liz for such great photos to work with!

If you are into consignment shopping there are two boutiques in Davisville Village. Act II is a bit more mature but has a great selection of vintage fur and mens suits if you are interested. Second Nature Boutique is a bit more contemporary. I saw everything from Frye boots, Citizens Jeans and designer handbags. When I was there, there was a Chanel quilted bag and a Chloe bag for the taking!!

So do you play with prints or do you play it safe?

This entry was posted in What I wore and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Mixing Prints; How I put it all Together

  1. Pingback: Five things I have learned from Fashion Bloggers |

Leave a comment